Skip to content

“They’re Here”

August 25, 2011

Ok, so here we go…….

I’m just trying out our new blog. Please forgive the mistakes till I get the hang of it!

20110829-052348.jpg
Some of you were asking how we would start out this great adventure……as you can see, the bikes made it to the truck! And yes, that is a photocopier next to the bike, this wasn’t strictly a bike pick up.

Dorothy and I were so looking forward to August 25, not only was it Ms Russell’s birthday, it was the day they were coming to pick up the bikes! Dorothy was told to call on that morning at 7:30 to find out what time the movers would arrive…..dispatch said we “drew the short straw”…..we were last pick up of the day. We couldn’t have been happier……we would spend the better part of the day twirling around our bikes trying out all of our brand new bungie cords and spiders we had purchased until we arrived at the exactly perfect combination providing both safety and convenience! Because after all, it doesn’t hit you what a freakin’ pain in the ass it is to break down and pack up the bikes until about day 3 or 4. You grow to dread it!

We were also advised to call dispatch back at 12:00 to get a better idea of when the truck would arrive. I don’t know what Dorothy was doing but I spent the morning packing and unpacking my travel bag, taking careful inventory of my crucial gear, paring away nonessential crap…the extra socks and spare fleece. Finally happy with my choices, I stuffed my space bags and left them spread around the living room floor to be packed at a later time.

Hopped in the shower and at 11:30, while standing naked in the bathroom, Dorothy calls and announces in her most cheerful voice…..,” They’re here”!…..Yeah…….

I thought my head was going to explode off my shoulders…….

The part that I omitted was that my car was, and it still at the garage being fixed. Yes, she had to drive from her house to my house and back. You’ll have to ask Dorothy what transpired on the return trip to her house because I was so mad, all I can remember is actually seeing the color red!

Our leisurely day was spoiled and now spinning out of control. I believe Dorothy also realized the mistake she had made by leaving two men with a large truck at her unlocked house.

By the time we arrived, both bikes we’re on the truck, strapped to pallets….that’s when my out of body experience began……Those poor drivers…..I unleashed my inner bitch and nearly went crazy, (check with Dorothy, I can’t remember what exactly happened). I think I began with something like…”that’s personal property, who told you you could put those bikes on that truck…..” at which point, both drivers immediately turned and pointed at Dorothy. Oh well…..

So much for the leisurely day. It was not an ideal way to get the bikes packed. We were up and down off the truck about a million times, it took about 45 minutes and there was crap flying everywhere. In the end, the bikes got packed, we only forgot a few things, the garage looked like a tornado passed through it, the dogs were exhausted from following us around and we made friends with the drivers because I was happy they took my shit storm in a very pleasant manner and they were happy because they talked me out of making them take the bikes back off the truck!

20110829-061229.jpg

20110829-061307.jpg

20110829-061341.jpg

20110829-061435.jpg

20110829-061502.jpg

20110829-061529.jpg

20110829-062605.jpg
Exhausted puppies!

20110829-062740.jpg
Garage in ruins
It was Dorothy’s birthday…..we managed to recover our mood with the help of cupcakes!

20110829-063644.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. John n chrisi permalink
    August 29, 2011 11:23 pm

    You go girls. You rock

  2. August 30, 2011 10:41 am

    Great blog!! Keep it going!!

  3. Lee Ann permalink
    August 31, 2011 11:05 pm

    Can’t wait to read about your trip every day. I’ll live my mid life crises through you two!

  4. Chuck & Judy permalink
    September 9, 2011 5:21 pm

    Belated Happy Birthday, Dorothy!!!!!!! We’re following you every step of the way. Don’t talk to strangers, look both ways before crossing, wash your hands, and most important, hug Melissa and have a blast!!!! Love ‘n hugs–Chuck ‘n Judy

  5. kenny permalink
    September 12, 2011 7:48 pm

    Go Dorthy Go. The trips we had up & down the east coast are some great memories. I am so jealous of you two. Have a great ride and don`t push it. Enjoy it to the hilt. Man I am envious. Kenny

  6. Chrisi and john permalink
    September 13, 2011 10:50 am

    Hey girls you guys rock , I figured out how to post from iPad wooohooo . We love all the photos they are amazing. Reading all your blogs it’s like living your dream with you this is amazing and you too are also .. Keep it going , keep strong, and ride hard

    We love ya chrisi and John and the boys

Leave a Reply

